WALLS FOR THE WIND reviews



"The book was nicely written and the characters had depth. I especially enjoyed the scenes that described transporting the children on the trains. Fascinating."
--Sandra Nachlinger, Writing with a Texas Twang, June 5, 2014

"The knowledge of abuse and neglect of the children of immigrants disturbed me, but also the strength of a few select angels was inspiring."

--Kay Draycott on Amazon, April 15, 2014

"This book by Alethea Williams is captivating and engaging. A person can only imagine what our ancestors have been through."

--geh55 on Amazon, April 15, 2014

"The book takes place during the 1860s, and anyone who is interested in learning more about the day-to-day reality of life during that period would definitely enjoy this story. I did."

--Sandra Nachlinger, Goodreads, May 21, 2014

"Prevented by circumstances of birth and gender from taking control of her own affairs, Kit Calhoun offers a welcome and informative dimension to the traditional male-dominated western story where women characters usually receive little but superficial development and are largely treated as window dressing."

--Ron Scheer, Buddies in the Saddle, June 9, 2014

Review tour kickoff, meet and greet, at Reading Addiction, June 25, 2014


"The adventure of a lifetime."

--Pure Jonell, June 26, 2014

“To transport the reader to another time.” 

--Texas Book Nook, June 27, 2014 

"This was my first time reading Alethea Williams and what a treat! I loved this story! This book was all heart and soul!"
--Diana Silva at Book Nerd, June 28, 2014

"I recommend this book to anyone that likes a well developed female lead, a western setting, the right amount of romance, and a story line that keeps your attention."
--My Tangled Skeins Book Review, June 29, 2014

"My husband read this book and he really liked it."

--Cat on Amazon, July 13, 2014

"Walls for the Wind is an interesting look at our history and a good adventure."
--Rochelle Weber, Roses & Thorns Reviews, on Amazon July 8, 2014

“An enjoyable story, both for its historical significance as well as its sweet romance.” 
--Toni V. Sweeney on Amazon, July 20, 2014

"There’s a richness in Williams’ writing that explores a painful and historical story. As a career social worker very familiar with the Orphan Train movement and foster placement, I appreciated this difficult tale so well and sympathetically told."
--Arletta Dawdy on Amazon, September 17, 2014

"In Walls For The Wind, Alethea Williams proves herself a master of description. She is as adept at describing the moralistic, religion-oriented world of the Rev. Howe’s Manhattan orphanage as she is in describing rough-and-ready boom towns of the West such as Julesburg, Colorado, and Cheyenne, Wyoming."
--Raanan Geberer for Readers' Favorite, October 7, 2014

"This is a beautiful novel that delves into the past. this is the second book I have read by this author and I admit I am a fan!"
--By P. S. Winn on Amazon, February 8, 2015

"The book stands out in its willingness to vividly tackle sensitive and controversial subjects."
--Kathleen Denly on Goodreads, October 29, 2015

"It was nice that this book gives context to the historical events that we learn in history books - these were real people just trying to survive."
--Pam Mooney on Goodreads, September 11, 2016

"It was a terrific story about the immigrant orphans in New York City just after the Civil War and how the problem was treated by various civic groups."
--Steve Bender on Goodreads, September 16, 2016

"I enjoyed the little snippets of historical facts concerning the time period where rail roads and settlers were heading West to start new lives and the fact that Williams was able to weave just enough of the historical facts around fiction not to have long boring sections of reading. "
--Kerry on Goodreads, September 13, 2016

"The author is adept at weaving historical fact, vivid descriptions of the times, and an engrossing plot-line through a young woman’s perspective in this male dominated time. "
-- on Goodreads, December 30, 2016

"It's a rich story of a painful, historic time that is hard to put down or forget."
--Lydia Granda on Goodreads, December 22, 2016



No comments: